Love… Actually.. What is Love?

I had a long chat with a friend in FB just now. He posted this question to me…

What is Love?

I gave him all sorts of funny (and annoying) answers but he kept pressing…

What is Love?

Then I knew.. he’s actually lost.. Confused… Just like so many others..

Can anyone here.. tell me.. what is “love”?

In your own words… through your own experience.. whatever…

As I think.. once you see love.. you’ll know love and will fight for it…

17 Responses to “Love… Actually.. What is Love?”

  1. “CINTA dan keinginan untuk memiliki itu, adalah tidak sama” – my favourite quote lifted from the novel Ayat-ayat Cinta, as said by Maria, Fahri’s second wife who died days after nikah.

  2. I am not really a believer of love at first sight (but someone in school fell for me at first sight and to date, he is the one who loved me most. i was just stupid to let him go)

    Love, to me is when you found someone you can talk to
    When you found someone you can be yourself with
    When it is effortless to keep the spark going
    When you have mutual respect and understanding
    When you treat each other as equals
    When you finish each other’s sentences
    When you find yourself defending that person
    When you let yourself be vulnerable to that person
    When you make each other happy
    When you share each other’s sorrow
    When you accept all the flaws with open heart

    These.. to me, is LOVE.

    (I have downloaded Love Actually 4 years ago and never get around to watching it. For some reason. I just watched it once at the cinema when it first came out)

  3. LOVE is just a word…

    the importante things are compromise and Give & Take…

    with that two thingy… will take love to a higher level… Marriage, making babies, manage a family, and growing old together…

    miahahahahahaha…

    p/s: sadly it didnt happen to me either… piss off… bollocks…

  4. Alexandria: Firstly.. Nice name πŸ™‚ Secondly.. I agree with the points that you’ve written down. The one that I think is the most important.. “accept all the flaws with an open heart”.. That sentence only can summarize everything. My father told me once.. ‘you should love that person “IN SPITE” of… rather than “BECAUSE” of… etc..’

    Snoop: Bro.. I dont think “love” is just a word although I do agree that in love, there should be compromise.. Actually, most people confuse “love” with “lust”.. When there is compromise even without realizing it.. then it’s love.. But if you’re just looking forward to the bedroom sessions.. then.. after a while.. it’ll fade away..

  5. waaahh.. ape mimpi nih. I think your father is a very wise man. He knewhis son is a vainpot and poyo and has some gay tendencies that’s why he emphasized on the flaw part.. ahahahah… (matilaa I Amir takde kat sini to back me up. LOL)

    LOVE, to me is when you take risks for that person, when you have faith in him/her, and once a while, u also do stupid things for them.

    Of course, having your heart racing when you are just 5 metres apart could mean love, or just excitement. Even I can’t determine that one.

    Eh ape nih komen panjang2 kat blog orang, I might as well post my own version of love in my own blog.

    Heh.

  6. Aza: Hey… kat sini pon nak ajak Amir join ke??? Haish…

    Well… sometimes, when you’re in love, it’s true that we do stupid things. But again.. “stupid” is relative here… Some might say it’s noble.. and some might say it’s outright damn stupid lah kan… Hahahahaa…

    Well.. when you’ve posted something about love.. I’ll ask my friend to read it. Hope it could enlighten him a little..

  7. naaah.. I’m jaded. i don’t really believe in love. my ship has sailed.

  8. Ari..love is another four letter word…:)

  9. ladybeattles71 Says:

    Love?
    EVOLution for dating, dreaming, promising and maybe breaking heart!

  10. Ajah: Jaded??? Dont believe in love anymore? Well.. I think kan, sometimes, it’s the journey that makes it worthwhile. So.. kesimpulanye, dont give up. I’m sure your knight in a shinning armour (bimmer) is just around the corner.. hehehehe…

    Pops: Yes pops.. it is a FOUR letter word.. hehehe.. I was hoping you’d pen down some of your words of wisdom here.. or was that just it???

    ladybeattles: heart ache, heart break, butterflies in the tummy..etc All this feelings.. that’s why people keep on doing it over and over again.

  11. Love is seeing perfection through the imperfections. That might not be the most accurate definition, but it’s definitely my favourite. πŸ˜€

  12. ari..
    love nih is very universal ..for me love is a very wonderful feeling which is hard to explain..rase kasih n sayang nihhh terkadang sukar nk diungkapkan esp antara mother daugther..
    i dunno i was brought up in a traditional way so we never say tht we love each other..but in ur heart u know tht u luv her verryyy much n seriesly i tell u after losing my dad n 3 brothers i cant imagine life without her…
    love between friends plak rase mcm close bonding sama lebih kurang mcm brother n sisiters..we laugh, we cry , we share up n downs , great time gud time bad moments everything ..so again i cant imagine life without frens…
    in companionship …to love n b love in return is like walking on a cloud nine ..sweet moments, lovey doveyyy, marah, merajuk , pujuk, sakit hati seme ader…
    thts love for me ari

  13. Mie: Agreed sis.. Sometimes, other people see it differently. Then it’s not love lah tu kannn…

    Shud: Wow.. That’s a very thorough comment. Thanks.

    I’m sorry for your loss. I’m sure it’s very hard for you and now.. I think your bond with your mother is inseparable.

    As for companionship, yes.. true. To love and be loved.. that’s what we’re looking for. And when that happens, the world can stop, rotate the other way round pun takpe. Hahahaha… It’s a great feeling. But the main thing is, we have to be thankful for it and not only appreciate it when it’s gone.

  14. waving to a stranger at Bangkok Airport (because he is so tall & handsome) and made him cross the road so that you can say hello to him. maybe that’s love (at first sight). heh.

    he is Swiss-Thai (not you yer Ari, jangan perasan tall and handsome tu adalah you please), still aren’t decided whether to stay in Bangkok or return to Switzerland.

    oh well, maybe he’ll decide to relocate to Kuala Lumpur instead, to be with the stranger he met at Bangkok Airport…

    lalalala.. hati berbunga riang.

  15. Aza: Well.. from what was written, that sounds like love πŸ™‚ at first sight.
    Well, I’ve seen my friend’s sister fall for a swiss guy. He gave her everything, except, he doesnt want to settle down. So, when she hinted, the guy was gone. Just make sure you know what you’re getting yourself into and prepare for the worst. Cheh.. macam org tua nak bagi advise laa pulak.. hehehe..

  16. yes. thank u daddy.

  17. iman qistina Says:

    LOVE? digest this song….my fav!

    L is for the way you look at me
    O is for the only one I see
    V is very, very extraordinary
    E is even more than anyone that you adore

    And love is all that I can give to you
    Love is more than just a game for two
    Two in love can make it
    Take my heart but please don’t break it
    Love was made for me and you

    well, for me LOVE = QUARREL…..syok gaduh2, but sayang again and again and again…. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

